> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.topograph.co/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Brazil

> CNPJ identifiers, Receita Federal data, ownership limits, and request modes

## Start here

Use this guide for CNPJ formats, search behavior and the meaning of Brazil's company data. The [Brazil coverage page](https://topograph.co/pricing/br) lists current datapoints, sources, legal forms and availability.

<Warning>
  Brazil is in beta and **prefill-only**. Pass `"mode": "prefill"` when requesting company data. Periodic public CNPJ publications do not provide current authoritative verification. Omitting `mode`, or using `verification`, returns `authoritative_source_unavailable` for these datapoints. See [Modes](/essentials/modes).
</Warning>

## Table of Contents

* [Data Sources](#data-sources)
* [Company Identifiers](#company-identifiers)
* [Search Capabilities](#search-capabilities)
* [Quirks & Gotchas](#quirks--gotchas)
* [Mappings](#mappings)
* [Data Availability](#data-availability)
* [Example API Responses](#example-api-responses)

## Data Sources

The [Cadastro Nacional da Pessoa Jurídica (CNPJ)](https://www.gov.br/receitafederal/pt-br/assuntos/cadastros-e-registros-especiais/cnpj), maintained by Receita Federal, covers legal entities and their establishments. Data comes from periodic [public CNPJ publications](https://www.gov.br/receitafederal/pt-br/acesso-a-informacao/dados-abertos). Recent registrations and changes may be absent until a later publication.

The company datapoint includes registration details, cadastral status, capital, address and economic activities when published. Representatives, other key persons and eligible equity partners come from the Quadro de Sócios e Administradores (QSA). Availability varies by legal nature.

For reporting issuers, the [Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM)](https://www.gov.br/cvm/pt-br) publishes shareholder disclosures in the [Formulário de Referência](https://dados.cvm.gov.br/dataset/cia_aberta-doc-fre). These can supplement shareholders when QSA does not publish equity owners. They describe identified direct holdings at the disclosed date, not a complete current shareholder register.

The same reference forms can supply executive officers, board and fiscal council members, committee members and company participations. Election and appointment dates remain distinct; a board or committee title does not establish signing powers.

The latest disclosure in the current reference year is used when available, with the preceding year as a fallback. Older historical disclosures are not covered.

GLEIF supplements `company.identifiers.lei` when an existing identifier uniquely matches a registration or validation reference. An absent LEI field does not prove the entity has no LEI. See [Legal Entity Identifier](/essentials/retrieve_company#legal-entity-identifier-lei).

## Company Identifiers

| Key | Format | Example |
| - | - | - |
| `cnpj` | 12 uppercase letters A-Z or digits, followed by two numeric modulo-11 check digits. Older registrations contain digits only. | `19131243000197` |
| `lei` | 20 alphanumeric characters, when available as a supplementary response identifier. | See [LEI](/essentials/retrieve_company#legal-entity-identifier-lei). |

CNPJ is the primary identifier and national tax number. It covers companies, sole entrepreneurs, non-profits and other registered entities. The first eight characters identify the entity and the next four identify its establishment. Send all 14 characters and preserve leading zeros.

Formatted input such as `19.131.243/0001-97` is accepted. Results use `19131243000197`. Lowercase letters are normalized to uppercase. Alphanumeric CNPJs have been issued since July 2026; `00000000E08G12` identifies the first such registration, a Banco do Brasil branch. See [Receita Federal's announcement](https://www.gov.br/receitafederal/pt-br/assuntos/noticias/2026/julho/receita-federal-gera-o-primeiro-cnpj-em-formato-alfanumerico).

## Search Capabilities

Search supports legal and commercial names, and an exact, complete CNPJ with or without display punctuation. Name searches match words and prefixes without requiring accents. Partial-number, person-name and CPF searches are unavailable.

Legal-name matches normally identify a registered head office; commercial-name matches can identify a branch. Results always carry the actual establishment CNPJ. A head-office number is never manufactured from a branch number.

Results include the legal name and available address for the establishment. `activeOnly=true` excludes cancelled and deregistered registrations. Suspended or irregular tax registration leaves operating status unknown and may remain in results. An empty result means the CNPJ was not found in the available publication; it does not establish that a newly registered entity does not exist.

## Quirks & Gotchas

* **Establishment scope.** Branches share the parent entity's legal name, capital and QSA. Their CNPJs, addresses and economic activities can differ.
* **Dates.** `registrationDate` is the establishment's reported activity-start date. It is not certified incorporation of the parent entity. QSA entry dates do not establish officer appointment dates.
* **Cadastral status.** Tax suspension or irregularity does not establish dissolution or cessation. Preserve the local status alongside the standardized active flag.
* **Partner identity.** A corporate QSA record can identify a foreign company. Short foreign source identifiers are not Brazilian CNPJs or CPFs. Personal CPF values may be masked; missing digits are not reconstructed.
* **Sole entrepreneurs.** Published addresses and contact details may be redacted. The proprietor's name is returned under `legalRepresentatives` when identified in the registration name.
* **Ownership limits.** QSA is a combined partners-and-management disclosure. It does not supply ownership percentages, share counts, a complete joint-stock shareholder register or certified beneficial ownership.

## Mappings

### Company Status

| Local status | Meaning | `status.active` |
| - | - | - |
| ATIVA | Active cadastral registration | `true` |
| ATIVA NÃO REGULAR | Active registration with irregularities | `true` |
| NULA | Cancelled registration | `false` |
| BAIXADA | Deregistered | `false` |
| SUSPENSA | Suspended cadastral registration | Not established |
| INAPTA | Irregular cadastral registration | Not established |

The local label is preserved. Unknown status codes do not create an active or inactive assertion.

The mapping includes the official CNPJ query vocabulary. `ATIVA NÃO REGULAR` is documented there but is absent from the current periodic publication's status list. Neither active label is a guarantee of good standing.

### Legal Forms

Legal natures use Receita Federal's complete published dictionary, including public bodies and legacy forms. A known exact match can include an ISO 20275 code. An unknown legal nature retains its source label.

The former EIRELI forms (2305 and 2313) remain recognizable in historical records but are discontinued. A single-member law firm (2321) retains its distinct professional form; it is not classified as a limited liability company.

| Code | Local legal nature | Standardized category | ISO 20275 |
| - | - | - | - |
| 0000 | Natureza Jurídica não informada | Other | |
| 1015 | Órgão Público do Poder Executivo Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1023 | Órgão Público do Poder Executivo Estadual ou do Distrito Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1031 | Órgão Público do Poder Executivo Municipal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1040 | Órgão Público do Poder Legislativo Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1058 | Órgão Público do Poder Legislativo Estadual ou do Distrito Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1066 | Órgão Público do Poder Legislativo Municipal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1074 | Órgão Público do Poder Judiciário Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1082 | Órgão Público do Poder Judiciário Estadual | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1104 | Autarquia Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1112 | Autarquia Estadual ou do Distrito Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1120 | Autarquia Municipal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1139 | Fundação Pública de Direito Público Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1147 | Fundação Pública de Direito Público Estadual ou do Distrito Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1155 | Fundação Pública de Direito Público Municipal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1163 | Órgão Público Autônomo Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1171 | Órgão Público Autônomo Estadual ou do Distrito Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1180 | Órgão Público Autônomo Municipal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1198 | Comissão Polinacional | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1210 | Consórcio Público de Direito Público (Associação Pública) | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1228 | Consórcio Público de Direito Privado | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1236 | Estado ou Distrito Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1244 | Município | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1252 | Fundação Pública de Direito Privado Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1260 | Fundação Pública de Direito Privado Estadual ou do Distrito Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1279 | Fundação Pública de Direito Privado Municipal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1287 | Fundo Público da Administração Indireta Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1295 | Fundo Público da Administração Indireta Estadual ou do Distrito Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1309 | Fundo Público da Administração Indireta Municipal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1317 | Fundo Público da Administração Direta Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1325 | Fundo Público da Administração Direta Estadual ou do Distrito Federal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1333 | Fundo Público da Administração Direta Municipal | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1341 | União | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 1350 | ENTIDADE PÚBLICA SOB REGIME ESPECIAL | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 2011 | Empresa Pública | Government-Owned Entity | 4LKN |
| 2038 | Sociedade de Economia Mista | Government-Owned Entity | |
| 2046 | Sociedade Anônima Aberta | Corporation | X0SD |
| 2054 | Sociedade Anônima Fechada | Corporation | X0SD |
| 2062 | Sociedade Empresária Limitada | Limited Liability Company | QHW1 |
| 2070 | Sociedade Empresária em Nome Coletivo | Partnership | 529B |
| 2089 | Sociedade Empresária em Comandita Simples | Partnership | WBEC |
| 2097 | Sociedade Empresária em Comandita por Ações | Corporation | X2ZT |
| 2100 | Sociedade Mercantil de Capital e Indústria | Partnership | |
| 2127 | Sociedade em Conta de Participação | Partnership | XQRI |
| 2135 | Empresário (Individual) | Sole Proprietorship | |
| 2143 | Cooperativa | Cooperative | PC5A |
| 2151 | Consórcio de Sociedades | Other | |
| 2160 | Grupo de Sociedades | Other | |
| 2178 | Estabelecimento, no Brasil, de Sociedade Estrangeira | Branch or Representative Office | |
| 2194 | Estabelecimento, no Brasil, de Empresa Binacional Argentino-Brasileira | Branch or Representative Office | |
| 2216 | Empresa Domiciliada no Exterior | Other | |
| 2224 | Clube/Fundo de Investimento | Other | |
| 2232 | Sociedade Simples Pura | Partnership | 8GEA |
| 2240 | Sociedade Simples Limitada | Limited Liability Company | QHW1 |
| 2259 | Sociedade Simples em Nome Coletivo | Partnership | 529B |
| 2267 | Sociedade Simples em Comandita Simples | Partnership | WBEC |
| 2275 | Empresa Binacional | Corporation | |
| 2283 | Consórcio de Empregadores | Other | |
| 2291 | Consórcio Simples | Other | |
| 2305 | Empresa Individual de Responsabilidade Limitada (de Natureza Empresária) | Limited Liability Company | |
| 2313 | Empresa Individual de Responsabilidade Limitada (de Natureza Simples) | Limited Liability Company | |
| 2321 | Sociedade Unipessoal de Advocacia | Other | |
| 2330 | Cooperativas de Consumo | Cooperative | |
| 2348 | Empresa Simples de Inovação | Other | |
| 3034 | Serviço Notarial e Registral (Cartório) | Other | |
| 3069 | Fundação Privada | Nonprofit Organization | I4T1 |
| 3077 | Serviço Social Autônomo | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3085 | Condomínio Edilício | Other | |
| 3107 | Comissão de Conciliação Prévia | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3115 | Entidade de Mediação e Arbitragem | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3131 | Entidade Sindical | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3204 | Estabelecimento, no Brasil, de Fundação ou Associação Estrangeiras | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3212 | Fundação ou Associação Domiciliada no Exterior | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3220 | Organização Religiosa | Nonprofit Organization | 9BIS |
| 3239 | Comunidade Indígena | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3247 | Fundo Privado | Other | |
| 3255 | Órgão de Direção Nacional de Partido Político | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3263 | Órgão de Direção Regional de Partido Político | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3271 | Órgão de Direção Local de Partido Político | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3280 | Comitê Financeiro de Partido Político | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3298 | Frente Plebiscitária ou Referendária | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3301 | Organização Social (OS) | Nonprofit Organization | |
| 3328 | Plano de Benefícios de Previdência Complementar Fechada | Other | |
| 3999 | Associação Privada | Nonprofit Organization | J7G9 |
| 4014 | Empresa Individual Imobiliária | Sole Proprietorship | |
| 4090 | Candidato a Cargo Político Eletivo | Other | |
| 4120 | Produtor Rural (Pessoa Física) | Sole Proprietorship | |
| 5010 | Organização Internacional | Other | |
| 5029 | Representação Diplomática Estrangeira | Other | |
| 5037 | Outras Instituições Extraterritoriais | Other | |
| 8885 | Natureza Jurídica não informada | Other | |

### Legal Representatives

Explicit administrators, directors, presidents, managing partners, liquidators and authorized agents are returned under `legalRepresentatives`. For a corporate representative, `representedBy` identifies its disclosed human agent. A corporate shareholder's own agent is not returned as an officer of the requested entity. The qualifications do not certify individual or joint signing powers.

The following table combines the 68 qualifications in the periodic publication with the additional official-query codes 76 and 77. A qualification can describe a partner, an officer, another person or the representative of a partner; its presence alone does not prove that every corresponding datapoint is available.

| Code | QSA qualification | Standardized role |
| - | - | - |
| 00 | Não informada | Other |
| 05 | Administrador | Administrator |
| 08 | Conselheiro de Administração | Board Member |
| 09 | Curador | Other |
| 10 | Diretor | Director |
| 11 | Interventor | Administrator |
| 12 | Inventariante | Administrator |
| 13 | Liquidante | Liquidator |
| 14 | Mãe | Other |
| 15 | Pai | Other |
| 16 | Presidente | President |
| 17 | Procurador | Authorized Signatory |
| 18 | Secretário | Secretary |
| 19 | Síndico (Condomínio) | Administrator |
| 20 | Sociedade Consorciada | Other |
| 21 | Sociedade Filiada | Other |
| 22 | Sócio | Partner |
| 23 | Sócio Capitalista | Partner |
| 24 | Sócio Comanditado | Partner |
| 25 | Sócio Comanditário | Partner |
| 26 | Sócio de Indústria | Other |
| 28 | Sócio-Gerente | Managing Partner |
| 29 | Sócio Incapaz ou Relat.Incapaz (exceto menor) | Partner |
| 30 | Sócio Menor (Assistido/Representado) | Partner |
| 31 | Sócio Ostensivo | Managing Partner |
| 32 | Tabelião | Other |
| 33 | Tesoureiro | Other |
| 34 | Titular de Empresa Individual Imobiliária | Owner |
| 35 | Tutor | Other |
| 37 | Sócio Pessoa Jurídica Domiciliado no Exterior | Partner |
| 38 | Sócio Pessoa Física Residente no Exterior | Partner |
| 39 | Diplomata | Other |
| 40 | Cônsul | Other |
| 41 | Representante de Organização Internacional | Authorized Signatory |
| 42 | Oficial de Registro | Other |
| 43 | Responsável | Other |
| 46 | Ministro de Estado das Relações Exteriores | Other |
| 47 | Sócio Pessoa Física Residente no Brasil | Partner |
| 48 | Sócio Pessoa Jurídica Domiciliado no Brasil | Partner |
| 49 | Sócio-Administrador | Managing Partner |
| 50 | Empresário | Owner |
| 51 | Candidato a cargo Político Eletivo | Other |
| 52 | Sócio com Capital | Partner |
| 53 | Sócio sem Capital | Other |
| 54 | Fundador | Other |
| 55 | Sócio Comanditado Residente no Exterior | Partner |
| 56 | Sócio Comanditário Pessoa Física Residente no Exterior | Partner |
| 57 | Sócio Comanditário Pessoa Jurídica Domiciliado no Exterior | Partner |
| 58 | Sócio Comanditário Incapaz | Partner |
| 59 | Produtor Rural | Owner |
| 60 | Cônsul Honorário | Other |
| 61 | Responsável indígena | Other |
| 62 | Representante da Instituição Extraterritorial | Authorized Signatory |
| 63 | Cotas em Tesouraria | Other |
| 64 | Administrador Judicial | Administrator |
| 65 | Titular Pessoa Física Residente ou Domiciliado no Brasil | Partner |
| 66 | Titular Pessoa Física Residente ou Domiciliado no Exterior | Partner |
| 67 | Titular Pessoa Física Incapaz ou Relativamente Incapaz (exceto menor) | Partner |
| 68 | Titular Pessoa Física Menor (Assistido/Representado) | Partner |
| 69 | Beneficiário Final | Other |
| 70 | Administrador Residente ou Domiciliado no Exterior | Administrator |
| 71 | Conselheiro de Administração Residente ou Domiciliado no Exterior | Board Member |
| 72 | Diretor Residente ou Domiciliado no Exterior | Director |
| 73 | Presidente Residente ou Domiciliado no Exterior | President |
| 74 | Sócio-Administrador Residente ou Domiciliado no Exterior | Managing Partner |
| 75 | Fundador Residente ou Domiciliado no Exterior | Other |
| 76 | Protetor | Other |
| 77 | Vice-Presidente | Vice President |
| 78 | Titular Pessoa Jurídica Domiciliada no Brasil | Partner |
| 79 | Titular Pessoa Jurídica Domiciliada no Exterior | Partner |

### Other Key Persons

Non-signing board seats and other published QSA roles appear under `otherKeyPersons`. Officers and board members of non-profits appear under `legalRepresentatives`. Neither list is a guarantee of complete current management.

For eligible reporting issuers, CVM reference forms can provide statutory executive officers, board and fiscal council members, and committee members. Governance records retain their filing date and version. An explicit appointment date can populate `startDate`; only a stated calendar end date populates `endDate`.

The role catalogue distinguishes CVM positions from QSA qualifications. Combined executive and board titles have separate entries for each position. A person can appear in several disclosed appointments, including historical appointments with an end date.

### Shareholders

Explicit equity-partner qualifications can identify shareholders in eligible companies, including limited companies. A partner-administrator may appear as both a representative and a shareholder. Managers without an ownership qualification, founders and treasury holdings are not treated as equity owners.

Joint-stock and mixed-economy company QSA describes management, not the shareholder register. For reporting issuers, CVM disclosures can supply identified direct shareholders and published percentages or share counts. Indirect ownership links, treasury shares and anonymous free-float totals are excluded. Filing provenance records the disclosure date and version.

When neither source publishes eligible holders, the shareholders datapoint returns `no_data_available`. Sole entrepreneurs and non-profits return `datapoint_not_applicable`; their company and representative datapoints can still succeed.

QSA does not publish ownership percentages or share counts. Neither QSA partners nor CVM shareholders are certified ultimate beneficial owners.

### Subsidiaries and Company Participations

For reporting issuers, `subsidiaries` contains companies named in the reference form's company-participation disclosure. This includes disclosed investments and does not establish that every company is controlled by the issuer.

The participation table does not specify whether its percentage is direct or consolidated. That figure stays in the filing provenance; `sharePercentage`, `totalSharePercentage` and voting rights are omitted. No acquisition date or control relationship is inferred.

An issuer without a usable participation disclosure returns `no_data_available`. This is not a declaration that the company has no investments.

### Activity Code Mapping

Activities use `CNAE_BR`, Brazil's Classificação Nacional de Atividades Econômicas, with seven-character codes such as `0111301`. Leading zeros are preserved. The primary activity carries `isMainActivity: true`; published secondary activities carry `false`.

The serving publication does not state an edition for each record, so `CNAE_BR` has no guaranteed revision. It is separate from Spain's `CNAE_2009`. No NACE or ISIC conversion is asserted.

## Data Availability

| Datapoint | Availability | Limits |
| - | - | - |
| `company` | Prefill | Periodic registration data; recent changes may be missing |
| `legalRepresentatives` | Prefill | Published QSA roles, identified sole proprietor or disclosed CVM executive officers |
| `otherKeyPersons` | Prefill | Published QSA roles or disclosed CVM board, fiscal council and committee members |
| `shareholders` | Prefill, eligible forms | QSA equity partners or identified direct holdings from CVM disclosures; no complete shareholder register |
| `subsidiaries` | Prefill, reporting issuers | Disclosed company participations; no inferred control or direct/consolidated percentage |
| `ultimateBeneficialOwners` | Unavailable | No certified ownership-chain declaration |
| `availableDocuments` | Empty catalogue | No document downloads |

Official extracts, constitutional documents and financial statements are unavailable. Structured company data is not an official certificate.

## Example API Responses

Request company data explicitly in prefill mode:

```json theme={null}
{
  "countryCode": "BR",
  "id": "19131243000197",
  "dataPoints": ["company", "legalRepresentatives"],
  "mode": "prefill"
}
```

<Accordion title="Selected company fields for Open Knowledge Brasil">
  ```json theme={null}
  {
    "company": {
      "id": "19131243000197",
      "countryCode": "BR",
      "identifiers": { "cnpj": "19131243000197" },
      "legalName": "OPEN KNOWLEDGE BRASIL",
      "legalForm": {
        "localName": "Associação Privada",
        "standardized": "Nonprofit Organization"
      },
      "status": { "localName": "ATIVA", "active": true }
    }
  }
  ```
</Accordion>


This documentation is built and hosted on [Mintlify](https://mintlify.com), a developer documentation platform.