Start here
Use this guide for CNPJ formats, search behavior and the meaning of Brazil’s company data. The Brazil coverage page lists current datapoints, sources, legal forms and availability.Table of Contents
- Data Sources
- Company Identifiers
- Search Capabilities
- Quirks & Gotchas
- Mappings
- Data Availability
- Example API Responses
Data Sources
The Cadastro Nacional da Pessoa Jurídica (CNPJ), maintained by Receita Federal, covers legal entities and their establishments. Data comes from periodic public CNPJ publications. Recent registrations and changes may be absent until a later publication. The company datapoint includes registration details, cadastral status, capital, address and economic activities when published. Representatives, other key persons and eligible equity partners come from the Quadro de Sócios e Administradores (QSA). Availability varies by legal nature. For reporting issuers, the Comissão de Valores Mobiliários (CVM) publishes shareholder disclosures in the Formulário de Referência. These can supplement shareholders when QSA does not publish equity owners. They describe identified direct holdings at the disclosed date, not a complete current shareholder register. The same reference forms can supply executive officers, board and fiscal council members, committee members and company participations. Election and appointment dates remain distinct; a board or committee title does not establish signing powers. The latest disclosure in the current reference year is used when available, with the preceding year as a fallback. Older historical disclosures are not covered. GLEIF supplementscompany.identifiers.lei when an existing identifier uniquely matches a registration or validation reference. An absent LEI field does not prove the entity has no LEI. See Legal Entity Identifier.
Company Identifiers
CNPJ is the primary identifier and national tax number. It covers companies, sole entrepreneurs, non-profits and other registered entities. The first eight characters identify the entity and the next four identify its establishment. Send all 14 characters and preserve leading zeros.
Formatted input such as
19.131.243/0001-97 is accepted. Results use 19131243000197. Lowercase letters are normalized to uppercase. Alphanumeric CNPJs have been issued since July 2026; 00000000E08G12 identifies the first such registration, a Banco do Brasil branch. See Receita Federal’s announcement.
Search Capabilities
Search supports legal and commercial names, and an exact, complete CNPJ with or without display punctuation. Name searches match words and prefixes without requiring accents. Partial-number, person-name and CPF searches are unavailable. Legal-name matches normally identify a registered head office; commercial-name matches can identify a branch. Results always carry the actual establishment CNPJ. A head-office number is never manufactured from a branch number. Results include the legal name and available address for the establishment.activeOnly=true excludes cancelled and deregistered registrations. Suspended or irregular tax registration leaves operating status unknown and may remain in results. An empty result means the CNPJ was not found in the available publication; it does not establish that a newly registered entity does not exist.
Quirks & Gotchas
- Establishment scope. Branches share the parent entity’s legal name, capital and QSA. Their CNPJs, addresses and economic activities can differ.
- Dates.
registrationDateis the establishment’s reported activity-start date. It is not certified incorporation of the parent entity. QSA entry dates do not establish officer appointment dates. - Cadastral status. Tax suspension or irregularity does not establish dissolution or cessation. Preserve the local status alongside the standardized active flag.
- Partner identity. A corporate QSA record can identify a foreign company. Short foreign source identifiers are not Brazilian CNPJs or CPFs. Personal CPF values may be masked; missing digits are not reconstructed.
- Sole entrepreneurs. Published addresses and contact details may be redacted. The proprietor’s name is returned under
legalRepresentativeswhen identified in the registration name. - Ownership limits. QSA is a combined partners-and-management disclosure. It does not supply ownership percentages, share counts, a complete joint-stock shareholder register or certified beneficial ownership.
Mappings
Company Status
The local label is preserved. Unknown status codes do not create an active or inactive assertion.
The mapping includes the official CNPJ query vocabulary.
ATIVA NÃO REGULAR is documented there but is absent from the current periodic publication’s status list. Neither active label is a guarantee of good standing.
Legal Forms
Legal natures use Receita Federal’s complete published dictionary, including public bodies and legacy forms. A known exact match can include an ISO 20275 code. An unknown legal nature retains its source label. The former EIRELI forms (2305 and 2313) remain recognizable in historical records but are discontinued. A single-member law firm (2321) retains its distinct professional form; it is not classified as a limited liability company.Legal Representatives
Explicit administrators, directors, presidents, managing partners, liquidators and authorized agents are returned underlegalRepresentatives. For a corporate representative, representedBy identifies its disclosed human agent. A corporate shareholder’s own agent is not returned as an officer of the requested entity. The qualifications do not certify individual or joint signing powers.
The following table combines the 68 qualifications in the periodic publication with the additional official-query codes 76 and 77. A qualification can describe a partner, an officer, another person or the representative of a partner; its presence alone does not prove that every corresponding datapoint is available.
Other Key Persons
Non-signing board seats and other published QSA roles appear underotherKeyPersons. Officers and board members of non-profits appear under legalRepresentatives. Neither list is a guarantee of complete current management.
For eligible reporting issuers, CVM reference forms can provide statutory executive officers, board and fiscal council members, and committee members. Governance records retain their filing date and version. An explicit appointment date can populate startDate; only a stated calendar end date populates endDate.
The role catalogue distinguishes CVM positions from QSA qualifications. Combined executive and board titles have separate entries for each position. A person can appear in several disclosed appointments, including historical appointments with an end date.
Shareholders
Explicit equity-partner qualifications can identify shareholders in eligible companies, including limited companies. A partner-administrator may appear as both a representative and a shareholder. Managers without an ownership qualification, founders and treasury holdings are not treated as equity owners. Joint-stock and mixed-economy company QSA describes management, not the shareholder register. For reporting issuers, CVM disclosures can supply identified direct shareholders and published percentages or share counts. Indirect ownership links, treasury shares and anonymous free-float totals are excluded. Filing provenance records the disclosure date and version. When neither source publishes eligible holders, the shareholders datapoint returnsno_data_available. Sole entrepreneurs and non-profits return datapoint_not_applicable; their company and representative datapoints can still succeed.
QSA does not publish ownership percentages or share counts. Neither QSA partners nor CVM shareholders are certified ultimate beneficial owners.
Subsidiaries and Company Participations
For reporting issuers,subsidiaries contains companies named in the reference form’s company-participation disclosure. This includes disclosed investments and does not establish that every company is controlled by the issuer.
The participation table does not specify whether its percentage is direct or consolidated. That figure stays in the filing provenance; sharePercentage, totalSharePercentage and voting rights are omitted. No acquisition date or control relationship is inferred.
An issuer without a usable participation disclosure returns no_data_available. This is not a declaration that the company has no investments.
Activity Code Mapping
Activities useCNAE_BR, Brazil’s Classificação Nacional de Atividades Econômicas, with seven-character codes such as 0111301. Leading zeros are preserved. The primary activity carries isMainActivity: true; published secondary activities carry false.
The serving publication does not state an edition for each record, so CNAE_BR has no guaranteed revision. It is separate from Spain’s CNAE_2009. No NACE or ISIC conversion is asserted.
Data Availability
Official extracts, constitutional documents and financial statements are unavailable. Structured company data is not an official certificate.
Example API Responses
Request company data explicitly in prefill mode:Selected company fields for Open Knowledge Brasil
Selected company fields for Open Knowledge Brasil